Connect with us


European Film Awards nominees revealed for 2022

Triangle of Sadness

This year’s European Film Awards nominees have been announced. The ceremony of the European Film Awards – the most renowned and prestigious award for European film – is presented by the European Film Academy and European Film Academy Production. The ceremony will take place on 10 December in Reykjavík.

The nominees are as follows.

European Film:

  • ALCARRÀS directed by Carla Simón, produced by María Zamora, Stefan Schmitz, Tono Folguera & Giovanni Pompili (Spain/ Italy)
  • CLOSE directed by Lukas Dhont, produced by Michiel Dhont, Dirk Impens, Michel Saint-Jean, Laurette Schillings, Arnold Heslenfeld, Frans Van Gestel & Jacques-Henri Bronckart (Belgium/ France/ Netherlands)
  • CORSAGE directed by Marie Kreutzer, produced by Alexander Glehr, Johanna Scherz, Bernard Michaux, Jonas Dornbach, Janine Jackowski, Maren Ade & Jean-Christophe Reymond  (Austria/ Luxembourg/ Germany/ France)
  • HOLY SPIDER directed by Ali Abbasi, produced by Sol Bondy & Jacob Jarek (Denmark/ Germany/ Sweden/ France)
  • TRIANGLE OF SADNESS directed by Ruben Östlund, produced by Erik Hemmendorff & Philippe Bober (Sweden/ Germany/ France/ United Kingdom) 

European Documentary:

  • A HOUSE MADE OF SPLINTERS directed by Simon Lereng Wilmont (Denmark/ Sweden/ Finland/ Ukraine)
  • GIRL GANG directed by Susanne Regina Meures (Switzerland)
  • MARIUPOLIS 2 directed by Mantas Kvedaravi?ius (Lithuania/ France/ Germany)
  • THE BALCONY MOVIE (FILM BALKONOWY) directed by Pawe? ?ozi?ski (Poland)
  • THE MARCH ON ROME (MARCIA SU ROMA) directed by Mark Cousins (Italy)

European Director:

  • Lukas Dhont for CLOSE
  • Marie Kreutzer for CORSAGE
  • Jerzy Skolimowski for EO
  • Ali Abbasi for HOLY SPIDER
  • Alice Diop for SAINT OMER
  • Ruben Östlund for TRIANGLE OF SADNESS 

European Actress:

  • Vicky Krieps in CORSAGE
  • Zar Amir Ebrahimi in HOLY SPIDER
  • Léa Seydoux in ONE FINE MORNING
  • Penélope Cruz in PARALLEL MOTHERS

European Actor:

  • Paul Mescal in AFTERSUN
  • Eden Dambrine in CLOSE
  • Elliott Crosset Hove in GODLAND
  • Pierfrancesco Favino in NOSTALGIA
  • Zlatko Buri? in TRIANGLE OF SADNESS

European Screenwriter:

  • Carla Simón & Arnau Vilaró for ALCARRÀS
  • Kenneth Branagh for BELFAST
  • Lukas Dhont & Angelo Tijssens for CLOSE
  • Ali Abbasi & Afshin Kamran Bahrami for HOLY SPIDER
  • Ruben Östlund for TRIANGLE OF SADNESS

European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI
This award is presented in co-operation with FIPRESCI, the International Federation of Film Critics to a director for a first full-length feature film. A committee composed of members of FIPRESCI and experts appointed by the European Film Academy decides upon the six nominated productions.

  • 107 MOTHERS (CENZORKA) directed by Peter Kerekes (Slovakia/ Czech Republic/ Ukraine)
  • LOVE ACCORDING TO DALVA (DALVA) directed by Emmanuelle Nicot (Belgium/ France)
  • OTHER PEOPLE (INNI LUDZIE) directed by Aleksandra Terpi?ska (Poland/ France)
  • PAMFIR directed by Dmytro Sukholytkyy-Sobchuk (Ukraine/ France/ Poland/ Germany/ Chile)
  • SMALL BODY (PICCOLO CORPOdirected by Laura Samani (Italy/ Slovenia/ France)
  • SONNE directed by Kurdwin Ayub produced by Ulrich Seidl (Austria)


Latest Posts


More in Awards