Jameson Empire Awards 2014 Nominations Announced – The Hobbit, Hunger Games Lead The Way

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 19.55.30

The last major awards ceremony of the year used to be the Academy Awards, which are being dished out in Hollywood this coming Sunday, but at the end of March there will be one more awards bash left to take place, the Jameson Empire Awards, the nominations for which were announced earlier today.

The 2014 nominations for the Jameson Empire Awards — voted for by Empire magazine readers — are the most diverse yet, honouring blockbusters and independent filmmaking and with a special emphasis on British films and filmmaking talent. Regarded as the antidote to more formal, industry-voted awards, the Jameson Empire Awards are voted for entirely by the cinema-going public, who can now continue to vote on the final shortlisted nominees at:

THE HOBBIT: THE DESOLATION OF SMAUG leads this year’s shortlist with seven nominations, followed closely by THE HUNGER GAMES: CATCHING FIRE with five nominations. What’s also great is that the awards also celebrate specific genres, like Best Sci-Fi/ Fantasy and Best Horror.

Check out the list of nominees below, and don’t forget to make your vote count by using the link above.

Best Film (Presented by Sky Movies)
12 Years a Slave
Captain Phillips
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Best Director (Presented by Air New Zealand)
Alfonso Cuarón – Gravity
Edgar Wright – The World’s End
Paul Greengrass – Captain Phillips
Peter Jackson – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave

Jameson Best Actor
Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave
James McAvoy – Filth
Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street
Martin Freeman – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Tom Hanks – Captain Phillips

Best Actress
Amy Adams – American Hustle
Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
Emma Thompson – Saving Mr. Banks
Jennifer Lawrence – The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
Sandra Bullock – Gravity

Best British Film
Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa
Sunshine on Leith
The World’s End

Best Supporting Actress
Evangeline Lilly – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle
Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Mia Wasikowska – Stoker
Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine

Best Supporting Actor
Daniel Brühl – Rush
Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave
Sam Claflin – The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
Richard Armitage – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Tom Hiddleston – Thor: The Dark World

Best Sci-Fi / Fantasy (Presented by MediCinema)
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
Pacific Rim
Star Trek Into Darkness

Best Thriller
Captain Phillips
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
Now You See Me

Best Comedy (Presented by Magic)
Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa
Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues
This Is 40
This Is The End
The World’s End

Best Horror
A Field in England
The Conjuring
Evil Dead
World War Z
You’re Next

Best Female Newcomer
Adèle Exarchopoulous – Blue is the Warmest Colour
Antonia Thomas – Sunshine on Leith
Elizabeth Debicki – The Great Gatsby
Freya Mavor – Sunshine on Leith
Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Margot Robbie – The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Male Newcomer (Presented by Tresor Paris)
Aidan Turner – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips
George MacKay – Sunshine on Leith
Oscar Isaac – Inside Llewyn Davis
Tye Sheridan – Mud
Will Poulter – We’re the Millers

The awards will be presented at a star-studded ceremony in central London on Sunday March 30th, 2014.

Total 0 Votes

Tell us how can we improve this post?

+ = Verify Human or Spambot ?

Paul has been writing for film websites for over ten years. The Hollywood News was born out of love for film and his frustration at not being a very good filmmaker himself. Those who cannot do, write about – or so they say. Aside from the site, Paul has directed a music video (badly), has one credit to his name on the IMDb, enjoys running, driving (now that he has finally passed his test at the age of 33), and of course going to the movies.

Leave a Reply