Last night saw the announcement of the London Evening Standard British Film Awards. Looking down at the full list of winners, which we received shortly after they were announced last night, they seem to be one of the only award lists that have got pretty much all of the winners bang on. In fact, I believe I agree with all of them.

The Best Film award went to WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN, a superb film that many critics agree is the best film of 2011. Michael Fassbender won for SHAME and JANE EYRE; I agree with the first part of that for sure but cannot comment on his performance in JANE EYRE and I personally haven’t seen it, but I still cannot believe that he was largely overlooked at this year’s Oscars. Olivia Colman deservedly won Best Actress for TYRANNOSAUR and SENNA also bagged Best Documentary. Andrew Haigh scored for his screenplay for the excellent WEEKEND, and THE GUARD beat of stiff competition from THE INBETWEENERS to bag the comedy award.

Here’s the full list of winners…

BEST FILM presented by Sophie Okonedo:

We Need to Talk About Kevin, Lynne Ramsay

BEST ACTOR presented by Elizabeth McGovern:

Michael Fassbender for his performances in Shame & Jane Eyre

BEST ACTRESS presented by Matt Smith:

Olivia Colman for her performance in Tyrannosaur

MOST PROMISING NEWCOMERS presented by Warwick Davis:

Tom Kingsley & Will Sharpe, Co-writers and directors of Black Pond

PETER SELLERS AWARD FOR COMEDY presented by Clémence Poésy :

The Guard written and directed by John Michael McDonagh

BEST DOCUMENTARY presented by Noel Fielding:

Senna, Asif Kapadia

BEST SCREENPLAY presented by Alexandra Roach:

Andrew Haigh, Weekend


Robbie Ryan, For his cinematography of Wuthering Heights

ALEXANDER WALKER SPECIAL AWARD presented by Stephen Frears:

John Hurt for his contribution to cinema

BLOCKBUSTER OF THE YEAR, PEOPLE’S CHOICE AWARD** for helping put British film in the headlines around the world:

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, 3D

**This award was presented by Stephen Mangan to Oliver Phelps ( who plays identical twin George Weasley in the film).

The Evening Standard British Film Awards for 2011 are decided by a panel of film critics – the Evening Standard’s Derek Malcolm, Charlotte O’Sullivan and David Sexton, the Daily Telegraph’s Tim Robey, the Times’ Kate Muir and the Independent’s Anthony Quinn – along with Evening Standard Editor Geordie Greig; with Arts Editor Fiona Hughes acting as chair.